Okay, if this isn’t the most appropriate topic to blog about this week… Trackhoof posed a particularly relevant question over on BA: How do you balance your WoW life and your offline life? It’s a tricky question, one I’ve struggled with since I started playing a year ago. Honestly, I haven’t found an answer yet.

In an ideal world, I could get involved in a raiding guild, raid once a week and stay on top of a job, an academic career, my family and a social life. Unfortunately… we all know that’s not the case.

For example, this week has been extraordinarily busy. Classes and the holiday have me away from my computer more than usual, so I haven’t been able to blog (or play) as planned.

For those of you who don’t know me, I’m 20 years old. I’m a full-time university student, and I’m due to graduate next May. In the near future, I’m looking at taking the GRE and applying to graduate schools and internships. I also work part-time as a secretary for a church and play bass guitar with the band at said church. Even outside of my basic obligations, I try to spend some time with my family, and I spend a couple nights a week with my best friend and my boyfriend.

At this point, I consider my offline life more important than my life in Azeroth. I play WoW for fun. It’s entertainment; it’s a way of escaping real life for a short time. Although I’d love to get involved in a real raiding guild, I have to put my offline obligations first.

Maybe when I get to graduate school or when I get a standard, scheduled job, I’ll be able to arrange things so that I can devote a regular block of time to the game, but, at least for now, I can’t afford to balance my life offline and my life online. As much as I’d rather be playing WoW sometimes, my offline life has to take precedence. So. I’ll see you in Azeroth… when I have time to play.

For other bloggers’ opinions on the matter:

